1/10/15

She looked so small & fragile
Lying there
All curled up.
She was in one of those beds,
The kind that hospice gives you.
Like the one my grandmother had
A few years ago.
She looked so jagged
Her shoulders, knuckles, and spine
All making sharp angles
In the space around her.
She looks so small
So small that I could pick her up
I wish
That I could just pick her up
And bring her,
Somewhere.
She wakes up for a moment
And reaches for my hand.
I’m already crying
When I say
“I love you.”
But she’s asleep again.
So my words
Hang in the air,
While my tears
Fall to the earth.
A little while later
She says
“I’m okay.”

Leave a Reply

